Note that the script will automatically remove all content from within the container DIV.
On YouTube
Upcoming Events
Follow MTT
Receive e-newsletter updates

Follow MTT
MTT kicks off New World Symphony’s 2014/15 Academic Year with new fellows
October 8, 2014

At the beginning of each academic year, Michael Tilson Thomas works with the new Fellows of the New World Symphony, personally leading a mock audition with each musician.  Last week, the NWS Artistic Director listened to individual auditions with the Academy’s 32 new Fellows, during which he provided feedback on their playing. These pedagogical encounters mark the beginning of MTT's relationship with a new class of NWS Fellows, with whom he will work for the next three years. 

Learn more about America’s Orchestral Academy.

Photo by Siggi Bachmann

MTT leads Yefim Bronfman and America’s Orchestral Academy in Brahms, Wagner, and Schumann
October 3, 2014

Michael Tilson Thomas and the Fellows of the New World Symphony welcome faculty and guest pianist Yefim Bronfman for a week of collaboration, culminating in two performances: October 17 at the New World Center, and October 18 at the Adrienne Arsht Center.  The October 17 performance opens with Dawn and Siegfried’s Rhine Journey from Wagner’s Götterdammerung. MTT pairs Brahms’s Piano Concerto. No. 2 with Schumann’s Symphony No. 1, “Spring” for the October 18 concert at the Adrienne Arsht Center.    

Purchase tickets here.

MTT kicks off 27th academic season of New World Symphony, American’s Orchestral Academy, October 11 & 12
October 2, 2014

On October 11 & 12, Michael Tilson Thomas kicks off the 27th academic season of the New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy, with a new group of Fellows and a program of works by Stravinsky, Schoenberg, and Antheil. For the opening weekend, MTT has conceived and directed a new stage performance of Antheil’s Jazz Symphony, complete with dancers, projections, lighting, and choreography by Patricia Birch. The concert program includes Stravinsky’s Symphony in C and Scherzo à la russe, as well as Schoenberg’s Cello Concerto (after Monn) with guest faculty / soloist Tamás Varga of the Vienna Philharmonic.  

Purchase tickets here.

The Saturday, October 11 performance can also be enjoyed as a WALLCAST™ concert, presented by Citi, on the New World Center’s 7,000-square-foot projection wall at Miami Beach SoundScape. Entry is free and open to the public.

Henry Brant's Ice Field with Cameron Carpenter September 18 - 21
September 15, 2014

MTT and the SFS are joined by guest organist Cameron Carpenter for four performances of Henry Brant’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Ice Field, September 18 to 21 at Davies Symphony Hall. Ice Field was commissioned for the SFS and premiered in 2001. The Orchestra also performs Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 in these concerts.

Click for more news ->